Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

State Extension Leadership Council

The Virginia Cooperative Extension State Extension Leadership Council (VCELC) is made up of representatives from each of the 22 planning districts in Virginia, representatives of programmatic advisory groups, and administrators.  The mission of the council is to advance and promote the educational program of Virginia Cooperative Extension.  

The VCELC meets in person twice per year, and sub-committees conduct business throughout the year.  If you would like to become a volunteer member of the VCELC, please contact Lonnie Johnson at or (804) 527-4151.


Member Planning District Committee
Vacant 1  
Vacant 2  
Toby Haynes, Saltville, Va. 3  
Deborah Ring, Radford, Va. 4  
Michael Beahm, Roanoke, Va. 5 Membership
Dennis Cupp, Bridgewater, Va. 6 Communications and Marketing
Dennis Morris, Toms Brook, Va. 7  
Joseph Botta, Woodbridge, Va. 8 Advocacy
Patti Knight, Montpelier Station, Va. 9  
A.C. "Corky" Shackelford, Jr., Keswick, Va. 10 Advocacy
Michael Van Ness, Lynchburg, Va. 11 Advocacy, Membership
James Marion, Stuart, Va. 12 Advocacy
Joseph Gasperini, South Boston, Va. 13  
Alan Bishop, Amelia, Va. 14  
Tony Hackenberg, Powhatan, VA 15  
Dan Durheim, Vice Chair, Fredericksburg, Va 16 Communications and Marketing
Chris Jett, Warsaw, Va. 17 Membership
Brian Ingram, West Point, Va. 18  
Martha Dodd-Slippy, Emporia, Va. 19 Communications and Marketing
David Trimmer, Virginia Beach, Va. 20  
Anita Taylor, Newport News, Va. 21 Membership
Bonnie Mahl, Accomac, Va. 22  
At-Large Members    
Basil Gooden, Richmond, Va. At-Large Advocacy
Ronald Howell, Spring Grove, Va. At-Large Advocacy
Glenn Martin, Doswell, Va. At-Large Communications and Marketing
Spencer Neale, Richmond, Va. At-Large Advocacy
Mary Van Dyke, Arlington,Va. At-Large Advocacy
Ex Officio    
Doris Baskfield-Heath Southeast District Director  
Brain Calhoun Associate Director, Community
Viability and Family Consumer Sciences
Cyril Clarke Va-Md Regional College of Veterinary Medicine Dean  
Benjamin Grove Associate Director of Development, CALS, University Development  
Daniel Goerlich Central District Director Membership
Thea Glidden CALS Director of Communications and Marketing Communications and Marketing
Alan Grant CALS Dean  
Bobby Grisso VCE Associate Director, Agriculture and Natural Resources  
Lori Greiner VCE Communications Manager Communications and Marketing
Jewel Hairston VSU Dean and 1890 Administrator  
Elizabeth Hooper VT State Legislative Liaison  
Franklin Jackson VSU Associate Administrator Advocacy, Executive
Lonnie Johnson Senior District Director Membership
Edwin Jones VCE Director Executive
Eric Kaufman CALS Agricultural, Leadership and Community Education Executive
Cynthia Marston Northern District Director Membership
Saied Mostagimi Director, Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
Danny Peek Southwest District Director Communications and Marketing
Bob Smith Associate Dean College of Natural Resources and Environment  
Cathy Sutphin VCE Associate Director, 4-H Communications and Marketing
Bobby Grisso ANR  
Paul Winistorfer CNR Dean  
Chris Yianilos Virginia Tech Director of Governmental Relations